Author Topic: Time to get out and do things... when???  (Read 1240 times)

Offline specialk1215

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: September 01, 2005, 10:21:28 am »
Hi all,
I am fairly new to the baby whisperer methods and overall, really like Tracy's philosophy. I am struggling with the rigid routine though, as I find that I am stuck at home all day trying to get my 13 week old daughter to nap at the right times. I definitely want to put her needs first, but sometimes I would like to go out with her to do an activity (strollercize is the latest!  :) ), or get some shopping done, etc and I feel like there is almost no time to get out as there is really only about an hour of activity time before I am winding down and trying to get her down for a nap. Does napping in a stroller or car seat count? I'd love your thoughts... You all seem so experienced! How do you manage to get out and do things?

Thanks everyone!!!
Karen

Offline Deb_in_oz

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 615
  • personal development blogger
Time to get out and do things... when???
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2005, 10:32:42 am »
welcome along!

i personally never thought of BW as a routine or schedule but rather a WAY of doing things.  if you get to know your child you can gauge what will work for them.  if they are sleeping independently (ie- you don't feed them to sleep or rock, etc) then i often took dd1 out and put her to sleep in the stroller for 1 nap. it is not a prop if your lo does not NEED it to go to sleep (if the only place lo slept is the stroller than that woudl be anti-BW)  make sense?

to be respectful (another BW concept) of dd1 though i always fully covered the stroller so she was not having to go to sleep in the middle of a mall with tons of distractions or with people looking in at her.