Author Topic: Napping in a swing:(  (Read 1141 times)

Offline DN

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: September 24, 2005, 14:00:28 pm »
Hi,

I'm new to this:)  I just finished reading Tracy's book a few days ago and have started the 4 hour easy program with my 14 week old son (yesterday).

So far he's doing pretty good, BUT currenlty he naps in his swing:(  He had great 2 hour naps in the swing - and I know that I have taught him a very bad habit.

He goes to bed easily and usually sleeps from 8:00 until 2 or 3 - wants a bottle and then sleeps to 6:30.  We haven't tried the DF - doing this tonight.  Maybe this will get him through the night.

My question - where do I start at getting him to nap in his bed.  Once every few days I try this - he'll go to sleep fine but is up within an half an hour - still tired.  Perhaps it's the issue of waking and not being able to put himself back to sleep - but what confuses me is how does he do this at night time.  Anyway should I try to be in the room at the half hour mark to reassure him - before he cries out?

Thanks very much for your help with this.

DN :P

Offline Matthew's Mommy

• BW Devotee
  • Showing Appreciation 22
Napping in a swing:(
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2005, 00:52:52 am »
Okay, you're going to have to spend a lot of time with him, to help him learn how to have a motionless sleep. At night, his brain switches gears and he sleeps fine.. but during the day, his body has difficulty settling from an awaked state to a sleep state, on it's own-- which is why he has a great sleep in the swing-- it soothes him to sleep and keeps him asleep.  It has become his day-sleep association.

So, to change this, you're going to have to clear your schedule for about 3 weeks (it takes the circadian system 3 weeks to reset), and really support him to sleep.  Remember how Tracy says that you have to stay with your baby a lot when they are learning how to fall asleep/stay asleep. You will need to do this.