Author Topic: Newbie with questions...  (Read 889 times)

Offline Raquelita

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: November 01, 2005, 14:15:31 pm »
Hello!!  This is my first post and I will admit that I haven't read the whole book just yet (got it late last night and I read the sleep chapter and how to change bad habits).  I do plan on reading the rest of it I just had to ask a question about transitioning to the crib with a 4 month old.  A little background...
This is my 4th child so I am no novice but I have always had a hard time finding the middle ground between the getting them to sleep themselves and crying it out.  I have always nursed my babies at night in bed and then put them back in their cradle.  My DD, Bella, who just turned 4 months old never lets me put her in her cradle and since I am tired, I have just brought her back to bed.  She is also a bad sleeper during the day, barely ever sleeping longer than half an hour.  It has gotten to the point that I have just laid on the bed to nurse her to sleep for naptime as well  (about evey 2 hours for every feeding).  I have realized that this isn't the way I should be doing it, but until I was sure how to proceed to break these habits, I prefered this to letting her "cry it out". 
So, now, I am excited about implementing these techniques (as well as scared that she isn't going to cooperate).  So, instead of being an all night buffet for my precious DD (as has been the case the past few nights), I used the pacifier to help her get back to sleep until I fed her at 5:30 am.  Let's just say I was full and in PAIN.