Author Topic: Sleep question  (Read 1235 times)

Offline Kaiden's Mommy

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Sleep question
« on: November 03, 2005, 18:12:49 pm »
Hi there,

I am new to this sight and was hoping that I could get a little help.  I am a new mom.  My son is 10 weeks old and he is able to sleep at night a 6 hours at one time. The problem is that he sleeps from 6pm to 12am then remains awake playing until 3-4am, before going back to sleep.  What can I do??   He has two naps during the day and sleeps about 1 1/2 - 2 hours per nap. I tired to keep him awake until 9-10pm but he is exhaused and cranky by 6:30 - 7pm.  Any ideas??

Dana

Offline LindseysMom

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 9
  • Lincolnton, NC, USA
Sleep question
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2005, 04:32:02 am »
When Lindsey was that age she went to bed with me at a later time so her long stretch would be at night.  Try a catnap around 6:30 or 7pm for about an hour and see if he will wake up after that for a while and then try a later bedtime to get the long stretch later into the night.    Also, when he wakes at midnight are you keeping the room dark with little stimulation.  As in change him, feed him, reswaddle and try to put him back to sleep.  As with any change it may take a bit for him to adjust.  Hope this helps.
Lynne
Registered Nurse now Sahm
Mom to Lindsey Elizabeth 10/28/04
Baby girl due December 8th

Offline kendallnangie

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 1
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2005, 06:48:26 am »