Author Topic: how to wean when you are used as a soother...  (Read 1425 times)

Offline Ethan and Will's mama

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 1
  • My husband, darling sons Ethan and Willem and me!
    • http://www.ineways.com/canada/index.asp?Site=susan
how to wean when you are used as a soother...
« on: November 04, 2005, 17:12:37 pm »
Hi there ladies, I am new to baby whisperer and am so glad that I have came across it. I am having a few problems with my little guy at the moment and I hope I don't come across as a terrible mother. I need some help. This has to do with weaning as well. My son will be 1 year on the 10th and he is still sleeping with my husband and I. The worst problem is that he basically uses me as a soother all through the night, switching from breast to breast every 2 to 3 hours and I am totally lost on how to stop this. Also, we just recently found out that we are pregnant again and so this stress is even more intense as we won't have the room in the bed soon with my belly getting bigger for my son to share! I would appreciate any advice! I hope I am not the only mom out there who has their baby sleeping with them.   :oops:

Thank you so very much for your time and advice. Ethan's mama
Susan Stannard
PROTECTING BABIES IS MY MISSION!

I market non-toxic products to health conscious parents, just like me, who want to avoid harmful ingredients in their everyday essentials.

Offline GraceKellysmom

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 104
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2005, 19:42:14 pm »
This is one of the toughest issues a newly pregnant mom can face. I have a friend that faced this about a year ago. Her toddler nursed/co-slept with them. What she did was slowly get him to sleep in his own bed. She started with the crib in their room. As he got used to sleeping in it all night, and not nursing all night, they moved the crib into his own room.