Author Topic: Don't know how much longer I can do this  (Read 1460 times)

Offline Superman'sMom

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 58
  • Hey Superman!
Don't know how much longer I can do this
« on: November 10, 2005, 02:49:21 am »
Hi,
I need some advise on short naps. My lo and I have been working hard to have him sleep independently for 2 months. He is doing a lot better and I am going to a 4 hour easy.  He is 4 months old.

Unfortionatly he always wakes after 45 minutes of napping. He used to sleep longer but it got shorter and shorter and here we are. I was concentrating on just getting him to go to sleep. Now I would like him to stay that way.

I wind him down, pat shh, etc. I use white noise. He is swaddled. He falls asleep in his bed but I have to have my hand on him until he is in deep sleep. After he has been asleep for about 40 minutes I go in and put my hand on him (I also tried wake to sleep at 30 minutes but he didn't budge until 45 minutes). He stirs at 45-50 minutes and looks like he settles then he starts crying 5-10 minutes into it. He doesn'r even open his eyes. I can count on one hand the times I have calmed him down after this. He usually screams harder and harder. I have tried pat shh, pu/pd, singing songs, picking him up to calm him before trying to get to sleep.

It really getting frustrating.  I know he is tired. I really can't get him to stay up for that long unless he sleeps. What am I supposted to do? Continue? I don't see how he will learn to sleep longer if he isn't sleeping.

Sorry so long, started rambling. Only dog and baby to talk to.

Thanks.  :?
Chelsea

Mom to SPIRITED Aiden
Born 7/10/2005

Offline deb

• Showing Appreciation 593
  • Resident Nac Mac Feegle
    • My Very Own Crunchy & Progressive Parenting Blog
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2005, 03:45:30 am »
A couple thoughts: