Author Topic: Expressing  (Read 885 times)

Offline jacqui19

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Expressing
« on: December 03, 2005, 12:25:55 pm »
Hi this is my first time on the forum and I'm just wondering about expressing.  My daughter is doing well at feeding from my breast unfortunately it is tiring me out due to her feeding between 2 to 2 1/2 hrs.  I've tried to express twice now and only manage 3oz.  When my daughter is fed this milk it does not fill her.  I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong or if I have to give her more than one lot of expressed milk?  Does anybody have any tips on how often I should express, when I should express and how much should I give my daughter?  Thanks for any help. :?

Offline Erin (redstarfalling)

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 188
Expressing
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2005, 16:09:47 pm »
How old is she?  It sounds like she's quite young, so it's not surprising that she's eating so often - it will stretch out eventually! A lot of bf babies need to be fed every 2 - 2.5 hrs for the first while. :D Regardless of her age, you want to make sure she's getting a full feed - do you know about breast compression? It can really help to get the fatty filling milk at the end of the nursing session, fill her up more and last longer between feeds. Also, are you using both breasts or single side feeding?  How's her weight gain and is she having lots of wet and dirty diapers?

As for expressing - what sort of pump are you using, or are you hand expressing?  It's usually best to pump in the morning, either about an hour after a feed, or if you're single side feeding, pump the other side after a feed.

Once I know her age, it might be easier to figure out some other suggestions too!  :)
Erin
Mother to Megan and Samantha

Offline jacqui19

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Expressing
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2005, 21:23:01 pm »