Author Topic: 13 month old has always had problems  (Read 2140 times)

Offline grahamsmama

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 38
« on: December 05, 2005, 01:29:10 am »
I'm sitting here as my 13 month old dd is screaming her head off in her room.  I've been trying to get her to sleep for an hour and a half.  I wish I could say this is a new problem and it's just because she's teething or having separation anxiety, something that will go away.  But our sleep issues have been going on for her whole life. 
I feel like my whole evening, every evening is spent doing P.D. and listening to her scream.  On the days dh isn't here for bedtime, I also have to deal with my almost 3 year old ds. 

I do P.D. (she's too heavy now to do P.U.)  and tell her "night night sweet girl, I love you" (the same words I've used since she was itty bitty).  And eventually she'll roll over, hug her bear and go to sleep.  But it takes sometimes an hour or more! I've been doing this for a few months now.  Before that we had gotten into a not great habit of feeding to sleep because it was so easy! 

Sometimes, like tonight, I just can't take the crying any more and I have to take a break.  Sometimes she'll actually go to sleep a few minutes after I leave.  Actually as I'm sitting here I don't hear any crying.  Could I be overstimulating her?  But I hate leaving her to cry on her own. 
We have a good, relaxing, consistent bedtime routine that starts at least half an hour before bed (bath, stories, songs, cuddle).  I put her down at about 7-7:30.  I also have a fan running in her room to block out the noise of a house with a 3 year old.

I've tried getting her to bed earlier and later.  The later I do it, the more tired she is, the easier she goes down, but the worse she sleeps all night.