Author Topic: need help. Lots of it!  (Read 1042 times)

Offline JanetP

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: December 14, 2005, 02:32:06 am »
This is my first time on this board. I have a 11 week old baby. At her two month check up, her doctor asked about her sleep habits and advised me to get Tracy's book.

The problem is that when we brought our baby home, she was a horrible sleeper. She never slept. she cried most of the time and if she did sleep, it would be for 20 minute intervals.  After reading some of Tracy's book (haven't read the entire thing yet) I realize that now, the baby was probably very overtired. 

Anyway, my husband and I didn't know what to do, most nights, i'd pace the house trying to soothe my baby to sleep. there were many nights when I only got 2 or 3 hours sleep in a 24 hour period.

We found by accident that she'd stop crying if I sat on my big exercise ball and bounced while holding the baby. it worked like a charm!  Most times, babe would stop crying immediately and fall right to sleep. Well, guess what, it's become our prop,. She's addicted to the ball.  I am tryying to use it less, but after all those sleepless nights in my past,  my husband and I do whatever we can to get the babe to sleep. Now she's sleeping through the night - most nights.  And she's napping more, so we don't want to mess with the system.

I know we have to wean her off the bouncy ball. She has no idea how to fall alseep on her own. Our second problem is that she sleeps in her little baby seat. (Fisher Price Baby Papasan) We have that in her crib., I have tried several times to get her to sleep in her crib but she wakes up immediately when we put her down. i've tried many nights without success. 

I want to add that we tried letting her "cry it out" several times. (Before getting Tracy's book.) That was horrible and I'm still scarred by it.

So we're back to our bad habits. Anything to get our sleep.