Author Topic: why cant my baby nap longer than 35 minutes?  (Read 1532 times)

Offline PeepersMom

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 9
why cant my baby nap longer than 35 minutes?
« on: December 22, 2005, 19:23:11 pm »
My almost 5 month old is STILL waking early from naps.  I have been working on extending his naps for almost TWO months.  I use the pat/shush.  I never - well rarely pu/pd because he is so big and frankly it is too sloppy to put him down over and over again. 

Sometimes it takes me an hour for him to fall back asleep and I think it is just the same as if I would have just picked him up in the first place.

I took away the pacifier last weekend and nights have gone well.  Naps STILL stink.  He is on 4 hour easy now and I have adjusted his awake times trying anywhere from 1hour (early on) to 2h15 min.  I am currently using 2 hours and have been for 2 weeks.  He still wakes up anywhere from 30-43 min into his naps and takes anywhere from 30min-1hour to get back down.  He is almost always crying the whole time.  There have been 2 naps that haven't needed my intervention.  It has never gotten easier consistently.  He may have one good day where for both long naps I get him back down in 15 min but rarely.  I even tried letting him CIO for a few days.  No difference.  And every new thing I try consistently for at least 2 weeks before changing up again. (except the cio - I gave that up after 4days)  But the only changes are the wake times.  Nothing major.

What in the world am I doing wrong?  I cry right a long with him.  I  just had to walk out of his room now.  I am listening to him cry his head off.   :cry: I am devastated.

I have to go back now.

I need help :(
Sweet Boy PJ "I'm too excited to sleep!"
DOB 7/28/05
Jovie love
DOB 1/24/11
Big Boy Miles
DOB 4/29/12

Offline mrs_kat

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 8
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2005, 19:57:45 pm »