Author Topic: How to drop a dreamfeed  (Read 5756 times)

Offline Taylor5

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
How to drop a dreamfeed
« on: January 04, 2006, 21:20:08 pm »
Hello this is my first time on this site I had a quick read and it looks to be packed with great advice.
I'm looking for help with dropping a dream feed, my ds is nearly 6 months he is on 3 spoonfeeds a day and 5 7oz bottles ( 1 of these a dreamfeed) his routine is as follows:
8.30 to 9am breakfast and bottle
10 to 11am nap
12.30 lunch and bottle
2pm to 3pm nap
4.30 spoonfeed and bottle
6.15 approx, bath
7pm bottle then bed
11pm dreamfeed....
He was breastfed untill 3 months and slept all night from 3 weeks so why I started a dreamfeed I dont know but it seemed like a good idea  :idea: at the time. He's a brilliant baby and I'm really happy  :D  but I would be even happier if I could drop this feed.
Please help
Taylor

Offline Taylor5

• Showing Appreciation 0
How to drop a dreamfeed
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2006, 21:43:47 pm »
Sorry I forgot to say he wakes up around 11pm for his feed, please help.

Offline Mariek

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 225
  • If the Beatles had read Hunter
    • My Blog: Protect The Cookie!
How to drop a dreamfeed
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2006, 11:19:33 am »
Hi Taylor

The easiest way to eliminate the DF is to cut back on the amount of milk you give by an ounce a day until you're down to one ounce, then on the following night don't give the feed.

If he wakes expecting the feed after that then you can try just offering cool boiled water instead - they soon get to the point where they realise water isn't work waking up for! :)

HTH

love
Marie

Offline Taylor5

• Showing Appreciation 0
How to drop a dreamfeed
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2006, 20:05:41 pm »
Thanks for that advice will start doing that from tonight, will let you know how I get on.
Taylor

Offline Taylor5

• Showing Appreciation 0
How to drop a dreamfeed