Author Topic: Help.... don't know what to do??? Is it reflux?  (Read 896 times)

Offline liamsmommy

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Help.... don't know what to do??? Is it reflux?
« on: January 05, 2006, 19:44:54 pm »
Hi!

This is my first time here. Our little boy, Liam, is going to be 4 weeks old on Saturday. He was a little angel for the first 3 weeks and now suddenly we are having trouble.

Here is what he's been doing:

When he is hungry, I put him on the breast. He'll take it for 5-10 minutes and then starts pulling it, grunts, arches his back so I take him off... well he gets mad and wants back on. So I do but he keeps fussing. I try to burp him and sometimes it will work some other times it won't. After 30-40 minutes of this, I change his diaper and then try to put him to sleep. That doesn't work either. He'll sleep for about 30-45 minutes and then wakes up crying. We try to soothe him and after a while, he is giving us all the signs of hunger. If I put him back on the breast, he starts fussing again after 5 minutes.

He's been having really bad gas which has prevented him from sleeping. He'll spit up once in a while, sometimes there is a lot sometimes a little. He'll get the hiccups a few times a day and seems to be congested but his nose is not running and he doesn't have a fever. He makes a lot of grunts noises when we put him to sleep as well as some glurps. I think that he's throwing up sometimes but nothing is there.

It's been really bad for the past 24 hours. We haven't gotten much sleep. I thought that it was my milk supply but there is lots coming out... Could it be reflux? If so what can we do?

Annie

Offline Mrsv4

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 1
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2006, 02:18:19 am »
Hi, we've been having the same problem with our little one.  She's doing all the same things your lo is.  We've been doing a few things that seem to help: