Author Topic: Advice needed for 19-month old!  (Read 1400 times)

Offline Dominic's Mom

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Advice needed for 19-month old!
« on: January 08, 2006, 04:39:03 am »
I am new to online forums and also new to BW. After gulping down her book, I have learned all about my subjective and accidental parenting and need help for my 19 month old son. I have done just about everything you’re not supposed to (':oops:'), and am gearing up to help my ds learn to sleep on his own as soon as I’ve got the plan worked out. I am a single mom, so I need to have as many details hammered out lest I crumble while helping ds with sleeping and nursing. My problem is with the technique, as my ds (of the Touchy type) has been co-sleeping as well as nursing himself back to sleep in the night. I don’t know how to approach these simultaneoulsy with the bedtime routine. Here’s what it has looked like for the last year or so:

My ds has recently taken a renewed interest in nursing in the daytime (irregularly), though only for quick snacks (I think this is more for comfort than thirst). About 2 1/2 months ago he refused his pacifier, and wants nothing more to do with it. At bedtime (7pm-ish) we read 2 books in a rocker, I have lullabies playing softly. I turn out the light so that it is almost completely dark, and he bf’s for about 15/20 minutes. Then he turns himself around and takes 5-10 min to fall asleep. I put him in his crib. About 1-2 hours later he wakes up and I nurse again until he is asleep. At this point I am ready for bed too and take him there with me. He wakes up anywhere between 3-6 times during the night, nurses and then flips over back to sleep. For naps it is the same as the above, or he goes to sleep with his grandmother out in the stroller or in the car (I started working full-time in September). He has never gone to sleep, or fallen back asleep, on his own in his crib for naps or nighttime.