Author Topic: When to add a second meal?  (Read 5196 times)

Offline Laura B

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
When to add a second meal?
« on: January 08, 2006, 10:48:37 am »
Bit of advice please. I started weaning my 4.5 month old DS a week ago because he was getting hungry between milk feeds.

He's now still having 5 9oz bottles of formula a day and a solid breakfast (we've done plain baby rice and also carrots now - bananas are next!). My questions are:

a) When should I introduce a second solid meal at lunchtime? Is it too soon?
b) When should I start reducing his milk intake?

Thanks in advance!
Laura
x

Offline Nicola_G

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 9
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2006, 11:19:33 am »
Hi Laura,

I'm no expert here, but I think now is not the time to start weaning. Sure, add solids, but do not wean. My understanding is that until about 8 months old, breastmilk or formula should constitute the vast majority of your baby's nutrition. Adding solids from 4 1/2 months (which is exactly what I did) is not an attempt at weaning, instead it is intended to serve a number of purposes:

- introducing the concept of solid food and give lo practice actually eating, rather than sucking
- introduce a variety of flavours (and later, textures)
- provide additional calories for a lo which is growing like a weed

So, you should continue to provide solids, but not to replace milk, but in addition to it. Breast/formula should be given first to quell the hunger, with solids offered afterwards. Initially, volume of solids will be small and the intention will be simply as a learning exercise.