Author Topic: Confused re number of naps and EASY schedule  (Read 931 times)

Offline llirette

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Confused re number of naps and EASY schedule
« on: January 25, 2006, 18:23:59 pm »
Hi!

Wow!  This is my first time ever in a message board environment.  I guess I am desperate.

Our Matéo is just over 4 months old.  He is a breastfed baby who loves to sleep.  He had been sleeping through the night for the past few weeks and waking at 7:30am every morning like clockwork.  His typical day was:
- a first feeding at 7:30am, then a nap from 8:20 to 10:50am
- a second feeding at 11am, nap from 12:45 to 2:30pm
- a 3rd feeding at 2:30pm, nap from 3:45 to 5:00pm
- a 4th feeding at 5:30pm followed by a bath and then in bed by 6:45pm until...
- one last feeding at 8:30pm (right back to bed for the rest of the night until
7:30 am the next morning)!!!
This schedule was a dream!!!
Having looked at the Baby Whisperer book as a reference guide, I saw that Matéo could probably do without a 3rd nap at this age once in a while.  Therefore every so often (maybe once or twice a week), I would go out with Matéo and not worry about his 3rd nap as much.  The nap I tended to cut short was the second one.  Matéo seemed to be doing OK with this scenario as long as it wasn't every single day.
However, late last week, his late afternoon nap started getting longer,  Had I understood at the time that this would eventually interfere with his night sleep, I would have intervened.  But I didn't see that coming. I now realize that I should have probably taken Matéo out on excursions late in the afternoon instead of early afternoon. 
After a few days in a row of long napping in the late afternoon, Matéo has now gone to a schedule whereby he wakes at 6am (for the past three days).  I guess he took his late afternoon longer naps as being an earlier bedtime which has generated an earlier wake time.  Am I assuming wrong?
His new schedule now looks like: