Author Topic: How do you know when it is a growth spurt?  (Read 964 times)

Offline Shayleesmom

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
How do you know when it is a growth spurt?
« on: February 02, 2006, 21:36:12 pm »
Hi there,
It is my first time to this board. I have visited the nap board and have now progressed to working on the sleeping issues.  I have read alot and have found this a very helpful venue but I still have questions.  How do you know when they are experiencing a growth spurt?  My 5 month LO has been sleeping really well lately after a month of tedious pat/shh and PU/PD but she finally caught on.  We put her to bed between 8:30 and 9:30 pm and she usually sleeps through to 4 or 5 am and then gets a feed then back down until 9 am.  She usually wakes at least once but I give her a little time and sometimes she self soothes and other times I go and do pat/shh without picking her up and that seems to work. 
However, the last couple of days has been a diaster and we thought maybe she ws havinga growth spurt.(?)  She seems to have forgotten how to sleep.  She has been waking 3- 4 times a night and not self soothing and after I put hr back down she is awake again in a half hour.  Last night she was up constantly between 2 anf 4:30 am  t 4:45 qam I gave in and fed her as she was due to feed at 5 am anyway and then she selot through until 9 this morning.  Needless to say I was very frustrated and dread this evening as I don't know what to expect now.
She is on a very predictble 4 hour EASY routine which I love because anyone can watch her and know what is coming and when, but lately her nigthitme routine is killing me in the sleep and patience department.

E- 9 am breasfed
A - anywhere between 1 to 1.5 hours
S - 10:30 for only 20 - 30 minutes but always wakes up happy so we are leaving it like that
E - 1 pm (formula 7 oz)
A - again 1 - 1.5 hours
S - 2:30 pm
E - 5 pm (formula 7 oz)
A - 1 - 1.5 hours
S - 7 pm