Author Topic: Sleep problems - getting desperate - please help  (Read 3203 times)

Offline shazzy

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Sleep problems - getting desperate - please help
« on: February 20, 2006, 09:26:16 am »
Hello all,

This is my first time postingon this website and I am in need of some sleep help.  My son is 4mths old.  Up until Chritsmas he was taking night feeds but he started only taking a few ounces we stopped them.  Since Christmas he is waking several time through the night.  Here is a bit about our day

He is on a 3 1/2 - 4 hr schedule, bottle fed.  He takes 45 min naps between every feed (I can't seem to get him to go longer) and we have a bed time routine of feed, bath, story, song and sleep.  We do use a dummy and have done since he started waking more in the night although once he isin a good sleep we can remove it or it can fall out and he will not wake.  Since around 3 weeks he has only ever done 45 min naps and has always had a bedtime routine.  He goes to bed around 7/7.30pm and we doa  dream feed at 11pm

Between 7 and 11 he may stir but it does not take much for him to get back to sleep.  The problems start around 1am.  He may not wake at the same time every night but he wakes 3/4 times before 6am.  At least one of those tmes it takes us 45 mins to get him back to sleep.  I don't go to him until he really is wide awake and crying.  No matter what we don't take him out of the cot until 7am when we start the day.  His first nap after this is around 9am (he has usually been awake since 6)

I watch carefully for his sleep cues and he goes straight down for a nap.  Was going to try the wake to sleep method but thismorning he woke before he usualy would and at night it seems to be random times.

I am getting really down about this and very tired.  Please please any help would be greatly apprecited
x

Offline shazzy

• Showing Appreciation 0
Re: Sleep problems - getting desperate - please help