Author Topic: too old for dream feed?  (Read 1177 times)

Offline tinytatsmom

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 7
  • I am working hard!!
too old for dream feed?
« on: February 22, 2006, 18:51:03 pm »
my lo is 8 months old and is waking several times a night.  Most nights I push through til 7 am with out a feed but sometimes at 4 or 5 she has to get up to feed because she just won't settle.  I have never done the dream feed as I am just getting into the easy routine.  She usually takes 25 ozs in the day, every 4 hours as well as 1/2 jar of veggies at lunch and supper each with cereal in early am and before bed.  Her last bottle is usually around 7 or 8 pm.  Should I be giving a dream feed at 10 or 11, if so how much or is she just too old for it?
I am exhausted and desperate for some sleep but don't want to take a step backwards.  Anybody who can help would me I would be so grateful to.
tinytatsmom

Offline Noelle

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 53
  • Eau Claire, WI
Re: too old for dream feed?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2006, 16:24:40 pm »
Hello!!
I definitely say too old for it.  Tracy also recommends weaning the dreamfeed by 7mos.  And, you want to keep the calories during the day, not add to the night ;)

When she wakes at 4-5AM what does she do?  A lot of babies wake between 4-6AM and will play for a little while, but will usually go back to sleep if left alone.  Does she go to sleep independently.

25 ounces seems like a good amount at that age, you may want to increase the solids if you can, that may help with the nightwakings.

Let us know {{HUGS}}  :)
**Noelle**  Formerly JohnandZoesMom

Offline tinytatsmom

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 7
  • I am working hard!!
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2006, 19:05:49 pm »
:) Thanks for the tip,

Your right about the fact that we need the calories in the day not at night.  I only tried it one night before I got your advice so lets hope not too much damage was done.