Author Topic: How does EASY work with an older child at home?  (Read 1036 times)

Offline curiositycat

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
How does EASY work with an older child at home?
« on: March 07, 2006, 17:44:08 pm »
Hi everyone,
  I'm new to the chat boards. My name is Lindsay, and I live with my family in the Central Coast area of California. I have a daughter that is almost three and an 11-week old. I just started implementing EASY, and it's going really well. I was lucky to have an angel/textbook baby this time around--my older one is definitely spirited! Anyway, I'm currently on maternity leave so doing EASY is, well, easy. However, I'm finding that the days that my older daughter is home with me instead of going to preschool are challenging because those are the days we have playdates, outings, etc. How do I keep up with EASY but still go out and do things? I find myself carrying the baby a lot on those days, and often nursing her to sleep in my arms since we don't have a quiet place for her to nap while we're out (she takes about four naps during the course of a day). Has anyone been through this? Any advice to offer? Thanks! Lindsay :)

Offline ella&jack'smum

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 54
Re: How does EASY work with an older child at home?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2006, 08:18:49 am »
Sounds like you are doing a great job at balancing the needs of both your children

It is very very hard! I think everyone finds their own version of EASY. You're exactly right - with an older child you can't imprison them in the house so your lo falls asleep independantly in a cot for all their naps, never nursing.