Author Topic: Wake-to-sleep... what are your methods for toddlers?  (Read 1142 times)

Offline GG

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 103
  • Chicagoland, IL
Wake-to-sleep... what are your methods for toddlers?
« on: March 29, 2006, 21:43:58 pm »
Okay, so I'm new to the Toddler world.  I'm reading Tracy's BW toddler book but haven't found anything about wake-to-sleep yet.  I've been looking through the threads in this forum and seen many mentions of this. I'm curious to see how this is done with toddlers since I only have experience with a baby.

If you've ever used this method, what did you do?
Georgia, mom to 3 sweet babes: touchy Foti, spirited Lena & not-so-tiny Joanna

Offline Florencia

• Showing Appreciation 75
  • Playin' hide n' seek
Re: Wake-to-sleep... what are your methods for toddlers?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2006, 17:15:31 pm »
I've used it for both, night wakings and early wakings.

For night wakings, was when ds was around 13 months and started to wake at 12 and 2 am and each waking was taking up to 1 to 2 hours of hysterical crying to resolve. Then i started sleeping on a mattress next to his crib and he'd still wake at 12 and 2 but seeing me next to him would get him back to sleep. If i attempted to leave the room before 4 am he'd freak and would be restless checking on me to see if i'd still be next to his crib. So i thought this is too much and just like that one day i went into his room at 11 pm rubbed his back and tickled him till he sort of whined and protested and then patted/shshed him and off to sleep he went. Then at 1 pm i did the same to prevent the 2 am waking. Did it for 4 days and he stopped waking for a week and then back to his old habits. Increased the pain releif dose before bed (by then i'd seen a molar popping in) and we forgot about the wakings... FOR A WHILE LOL...

So in that case i couldn't say if he stopped waking due to the wake to sleep or the pain aid or a combination of both.