Author Topic: 10week old/new to EASY  (Read 1414 times)

Offline nursemotto

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 3
« on: April 02, 2006, 16:01:30 pm »
Hi all...I'm completely new to the EASY method.  My son is 10 weeks old, breastfed exclusively, and has NEVER been on a schedule.  I just started trying this and it is already working.  He is actually sleeping (amen!)!  I do have concerns though and I am confused about some things.  I want to teach him right.

First, the shush-pat method.  That should be done mostly in the crib?  For the past couple days I have been doing that day and night, but I let him completely fall asleep on me, then I put him down.  He will not go down and stay asleep if I try before he is completely knocked out on my chest.  If I don't stay in the room for another 15-20 minutes through his next few "jolts", he will wake up.  I am wondering what the best/proper/most effiecient method is.

Second, what kind of schedule should my baby be on?  Is it the 3-hour routine?  I think he can go that long, but just before I started EASY, he was still eating every 2 hours...so is he ready to go on the 3-hour routine? 

Third, what is the "dream feed" all about? 

Fourth, what do I do if I can't get him to sleep for hours and hours?  Yesterday for example, I couldn't get my baby to sleep after 2 or 3 pm (not unusual for us...).  He slept great through his naps in the morning but then the afternoon he didn't want to sleep and he didn't go down for bed until 11pm.  Then he woke at 3 am for a feed (the night before he slept straight through).

Fifth, just this morning I couldn't get him to nap again.  He is clearly tired and I started the wind-down in time.  I tried to get him to sleep for 2 hours.  Then it was time to fed.  Say he actually went to sleep 1/2 hour before his next feed.  Would I get him up to feed to stay on schedule (even though I worked an hour and a half to get him to sleep?) or just let him sleep his normal nap time?