Author Topic: Is it worth it? (long post)  (Read 2322 times)

Offline aep155

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 1
« on: May 24, 2006, 18:30:49 pm »
Hi, this is my first cry for help, i bought BW and have read it cover to cover as a first time mum I'm not experienced and am worried about creating bad habits in my dd.  Emily is 10 weeks old and scores as an angel baby but i fear i might ruin her from my inexperience.  (sometimes she does display traits of the other types but majority score is angel so...).  I made a two day log to start with and hope that it might be enough info for you guys to help me i was trying a little to match it to EASY.  Yesterday and today i started looking for cues etc regarding sleeping (finished the whole book and read sleep interviews with tracy and re-read sleep chapter) as she doesn't seem to sleep enough , in the hope that i may be able to put her down to sleep at the proper time for proper naps etc.  she is herself on a 3 hour feeding schedule so no problems there.  the problem is is that the last two days i have been trying to get her to wind down and put her down to sleep after reading her cues (ie first yawn legs kicking etc) i have never heard my baby cry so much.  The only thing i seem to do different is try to get her to wind down and sleep when i see it rather than doing it when she is making a fuss (before knowing about cues) it has been really difficult to get through, swaddling sometimes worked in that past when she was a little cranky but at this time makes the crying worse, ssh pat and swaddled - still crying picked up and still the same i actually had her first tear last night. where as before she was a semi independent sleeper she is not rocked or walked just cuddled with a dummy until she gets really drowsy.  I am only just starting to learn about sleep patterns and cycles but why does she seem to wake up after 3 mins after she seems in a deep sleep (moved her and not woken but wakes 3 mins later).  I