Author Topic: Its time to try...and we're desperate for good advice!  (Read 1672 times)

Offline Hazels Mom

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Its time to try...and we're desperate for good advice!
« on: June 15, 2006, 03:42:47 am »
Our 16 month old still needs to have a bottle & be rocked to sleep every night.  We think its definitely time for her to learn to go to sleep on her own...but how???  She's soooo used to this routine we don't know where to begin.  How do we make it less traumatic for us all?  I'm pretty sure she will scream bloody murder for quite some time... and I'm not good with cio. (Incidentally, this is her only bottle of the day.)  For the last couple of months her daycare has her going down for a nap after lunch, with all the rest of the kids at the same time, with nothing but a little backrub.  It seems she's the one who's got US trained.  We have a four night stretch coming up where my husband and I can really give this our all.  Can we get it done?  PLEASE HELP!

Offline Devon's mommy

• Showing Appreciation 0
Re: Its time to try...and we're desperate for good advice!
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2006, 06:34:10 am »
If you haven't already, you should read the posts from the subject line: "Support and chat for mom's starting Walk In/Walk Out.  I've just started this WI/WO trick myself and after only 3 days I've seen great improvement with my 20 mo son.  Everyone else swears by it too.  It's not easy, it's work, but it's also not too traumatizing for the little one.  I think that at this age they understand that you just want them to fall asleep, and they might think that they can't do it, and they get mad, and maybe get their feelings a little hurt, but you are still there responding to their cries, you are doing them a favor, and they will fall asleep eventually.  Then every day it will get easier and easier.  You just have to be very patient and consistent.  It definitely works if you do it right.  Good luck!

Debbie