Author Topic: 8 Month Old- Wont Go Down til 10:30 PM- 2 Hour EASY- What am I doing wrong?  (Read 1632 times)

Offline SShold

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Hi there!  I have a few questions about my beautiful 8 month old baby girl.

First of all- I love the Baby Whisperer.  I have been implementing many of the methods since she was 3 months old.  During the day she goes down to sleep like a dream.  It has really helped me to read my baby's cues and understand her better.

I haven't been really strict on the EASY times.  I have mostly just tried to stick to a routine and watch her cues.  She normally wakes between 7 and 7:30.  I bf right away.  Then she goes down to nap around 9 or 9:30.  This brings me to my first question- she is only up for 2 hours at a time- maybe 2 and a half tops.  She will then show her tired cues (rubbing her eye and sucking her thumb).  I will put her down in her bed and she will fall right asleep.  Should she be up for longer than this at her age?  How do I stretch this?  What should I expect to see?  I read awhile back in a baby magazine that a babies brain actually releases some hormone when they get overtired which makes it very hard for them to sleep.  She is pretty crazy when she gets overtired.  I am afraid if I try to stretch it she will get overtired and then I wont be able to get her down so nicely.

She will normally nap for about 2-3 hours.  It has been closer to 3 lately, ever since she started crawling a couple weeks ago.  Here is my next question- should I be waking her sooner?  I know that good sleep during the day makes for good sleep at night.  And she is only sleeping about 8-9 hours at night so I want to make sure she is getting enough sleep overall.  Should I be getting her up at the 2 hour mark?