Author Topic: I have to stop swaddling my DD at 9 months of age!!  (Read 2042 times)

Offline MyHazelnut

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
I have to stop swaddling my DD at 9 months of age!!
« on: December 15, 2005, 16:20:48 pm »
I've been swaddling my DD for almost 9 months since she was born.   It's getting more and more difficult and obviously this has to come to an end  since I don't want to be swaddling my teenager 15 years from now. 

The thing is, she sleeps beautifully swaddled.  It's her queue that it's time to sleep and she gets sleepy even as I'm wrapping her.  On the two occations when I've tried to put her down without swaddling, she will not sleep - instead she plays or cries in an exhausted state.  She associates swaddling with sleep and freedom with wakefulness. 

Any suggestions as to how I can ease her into sleeping without swaddling??  We already have a wonderful pre-sleep routine that involves reading books and  singing lullabies etc. so I feel good about that.  I've considered sleeping bags which might give her that feeling of swaddling without the recieving blanket.  Any comments on the sleeping bag idea?

Does anyone else swaddle their 9 month old or has anyone any suggestions on how to wean her from swaddling?

Offline Liz R

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 1
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2005, 18:25:20 pm »
well Jake is 5 months, and was swaddled till about 2 weeks ago.It has been very hit and miss, but I felt like you..... a swaddled kid at Univeristy aint good!
We went with a sleeping bag(gro bag), but at first I used a light small sheet swaddled over his arms, to break him in gently.
After that I would put him down with his arms inside the sleeping bag, and during the night he would work them out the arm holes!
Now he sleeps in his sleeping bag, and it's lovely to see, plus he sometimes polls over and sleeps on his tummy, which he likes.