Author Topic: Is it ok i do this?  (Read 1679 times)

Offline *Natasha*

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 223
Is it ok i do this?
« on: August 14, 2006, 08:24:18 am »
I have been giving DD dessert after dinner for a few months now. However due to teething she hasn't been always finishing her dinner but i still give her dessert afterwards. Is this ok,does she understand yet that she hasn't finished her dinner but i will get dessert anyway? If no when does she start to understand this?

Natasha proud Mum to:

My big princess Catherine 7/8/05
My little princess Mirelle 17/10/07

Nikki~Nathanamp;Danielle

Re: Is it ok i do this?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2006, 08:30:43 am »
Guess it depends on what is important in your house. I have no problem if my kids don't want to finish their main meal - it doesn't mean they don't get something else later on if they want it. As far as understanding, well I'd say she knows the routine, but that's probably it - but doubt very much that she has the same adult interpretation that you do as in "only when I finish all my main meal am I allowed to have dessert" if that makes sense? My ds at 3 would understand this concept, but not my 16mth old.

Offline ella&jack'smum

• Showing Appreciation 54
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2006, 09:25:06 am »
I think you're fine to do this at the moment - as they get older you can start to use desert as a 'lever' to get the veggies finished! But I would always make sure in these instances it was something like yoghurt or fruit, rather than a 'treat' pudding. My DD would never get anything other than that unless she had finished/really had a good go at her main course.
Sue

Ella Rose 07/09/02
Jack Rowan 15/03/04
Stratford upon Avon, England

Offline jayne

• Showing Appreciation 184
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2006, 10:30:14 am »