Author Topic: in the middle of a 3.5hour wo wi NEED HELP  (Read 952 times)

Offline Guava

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
in the middle of a 3.5hour wo wi NEED HELP
« on: October 07, 2006, 17:07:41 pm »
Started 9.20am after an earrly wake up.
Have been through every imaginable combination of hysterical, yelling at her teddies, laughing, bouncing off the walls and barking at the moon.
1 year old is doing anything BUT settle.
Sometimes is besides herself even if am next to her, other times is fine without me.
Generally have been back in every 3 minutes if she was calming and every count of 5 if not.
Now she has been playing with and chatting to her teddies for over half an hour
WHAT DO I DO NOW?
Get her up, leave her in?
I gave her bottles to stave off hunger (which she would have anyway because thats another issue we need to deal with)
This is my first attempt at this and I just wish I had a teddy to yel at right now.
HELP!

Offline Erin M

• The Sentinel
  • Global Moderator
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 521
Re: in the middle of a 3.5hour wo wi NEED HELP
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2006, 19:22:57 pm »
Just a few thoughts for you:

First off, if she's calm, then don't go back in.  You could be getting her worked up again if she's starting to calm.  Definitely continue going back in every count of 5 if she's crying like she needs you, but if she's not crying hard and consistently, then just let her be (unless she starts crying again, then go back in).

How early did she wake?  Is she on one or two naps?  9:20 seems early to me, so maybe she's not really tired, but if you're on two naps and she woke early it would make sense.

Hope she got some sleep...

Offline **Clare**

• Showing Appreciation 134
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2006, 19:25:46 pm »
I used PD (put down) with my DS at a year and it worked a treat, Im not sure on why people choose PD or WI/WO, maybe its just what suits them?