Author Topic: Help! Trying to transition to an EASTY routine...  (Read 823 times)

Offline Kristen 2

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Help! Trying to transition to an EASTY routine...
« on: November 12, 2006, 15:15:39 pm »
Hi!  I am very new to this, but we figured we'd give it a shot.  My husband and I have a 5 1/2 week old and an 18 month old.  Jillian (18th months) was adopted from China in July.  She has adjusted incredibly well and is on a great routine.  But......Olivia (our infant) isn't on much of a routine at all.  From what I read in the book, we were doing a lot of things wrong that in turn were leading to the development of bad habits.  Basically, Olivia will eat and fall asleep at the end of her bottle, sometimes before she is finished and there is no waking her up then.  Once asleep we were putting her in the Papasan and she would sleep for a good bit, until hungry again.  She didn't like the bassinet, but she is actually napping in it now, so that might be a good thing.  We know we need to get her into her own crib in her own room.  Needless to say, we are losing our minds without a schedule and without SLEEP!

So...these are our questions:

1.  Any suggestions on how to transition to EASY and what it should look like?  We are sort of trying it today, but are most definitely flying by the seats of our pants.

2.  Because Olivia has become accustomed to falling asleep in our arms, we need to break that habit and get her used to going down without that help.  Or...we find that she starts crying and we can't get her calm enough to fall asleep.  If she has been fed, changed and had some activity time, what do we do when she should be going down and isn't because she is so upset?  (Not sure if I am asking this question clearly.)