Author Topic: Desperate for sleep - please help  (Read 1255 times)

Offline srar13

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: December 03, 2006, 02:42:51 am »
Hi everyone!
I have a 28motoddler and a 4 1/2 mo baby. My older son was a spirited baby, and not knowing better and not wanting him to cry, I ended up using lots of props. (sometimes nursing, slingwearing, singing, rocking all at the same time!) Needless to say, he took a long time to learn to sleep thru the night and still needs a lot of help to sleep, which we are slowly undoing.
With my second child, I studied the BW books, and vowed to do things better this time. Things started out very well, but within a few wks, colic set in, and I seemed to have a textbook baby in the mornings, easy to put to sleep, but by afternoon/evening, he just looked absolutely miserable and uncomfortable. At its worst, he would moan/cry from 3pm to 11pm unless (and often even if) we were constantly rocking or walking him. To get thru these times, I relied heavily on using a sling - this was the only way I could comfort my baby and care for my toddler. EASY kind of fell apart in the afternoons.
As he got older, we seemed to be doing better. By 2 1/2 mos, he was waking only 1-2 times at night, and I felt that with a bit of work, I could prob get him to sleep thru. He still needed some rocking before naps, but I've been using a gentle removal approach to decrease this gradually.