Author Topic: Am I deprieving my toddler????  (Read 2622 times)

Offline Mydreamcametrue

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 59
Am I deprieving my toddler????
« on: December 28, 2006, 02:24:39 am »
I have been staying at home full time with my son since he was 9 months old.  He was in daycare for the first 9 mos. 

There are some days that I really feel like he is NOT benefiting from being at home with me all day.  I feel really blessed that I am able to stay at home with him, but there are some days that I just feel like we both would  be better off if I worked. 

I feel like he is not getting the enteraction he needs.  What am I doing wrong???  There is no way that I could put him back in daycare 1.) because he is sick to much and 2.) I could not deal with being away from him.

I feel like he is he bored out of his mind.  He whines most of the day unless I am entertaining him.  Maybe I am just to worried about getting stuff done around the house and hoping that he will play by himself.

Any ideas on what I can do with him all day??  My husband works 12 hours shifts, so It is JUST ME from morning to night.....  We were part of a weekly playgroup, but I have decieded to stop that until he can not be sick so much.

What does your typical day look like with a toddler???
Wendy -

Zach - 3 1/2 yrs old. My sweet, loving, gentle boy that loves playing in the dirt!

Tyler - 17 months.  My very very spirited little boy.  Can't turn your back for a minute.  He is doing the cutest things now!  Loves to eat and climb!

Offline *Kimberly*

• Showing Appreciation 45
Re: Am I deprieving my toddler????
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2006, 03:04:41 am »
Here are some ideas of things to do or places to go:

1. Zoo
2. Museum
3. Park
4. Fire Station
5. Library (Sometimes they have read-alouds)
6. Pool
7. Make something together: food or craft
8. Exercise
8. Have quiet game time
9. Have loud game time
10. Have independent play time and together play time