Author Topic: Not sure what to make of this  (Read 1532 times)

Offline ladybug74

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: June 06, 2007, 21:13:47 pm »
I'm fairly new to this and have gotten some good advice on the Naps-board so I'm hoping someone can help me out here with night wakings.
My DS is 12 weeks and we've had some challenges with his sleeping habits. We've gone from no naps during the day and a coma-like sleep at night to a somewhat acceptable napping-pattern during the day and a night schedule with wakings. I'm not sure if his night wakings are just what to expect at this age or if this is something that needs some intervention.

Usually I start the night ritual at 7 pm; BF, quiet time, putting on pyjama's and putting him down between 7 and 8 pm. Most nights it takes him a very long time to fall asleep; he's hyperactive and keeping himself awake with his flailing arms and legs (I think). I've tried swaddling, without any success. Sometimes his fussing continues all the way to the DF (between 10 and 11). He'll cry for a little, be quiet for a couple of minutes, fuss some more, cry hard for a minute, be quiet again etc.
After the DF I put him in bed asleep, he crashes during the feed, and then he'll sleep for 3-5 hours. He wakes up as early as 1:30 am (and when this happens he usually wakes another time during the night) or as late as 5 am.
Last night he got fed at 7 pm, was in bed by 7:30 pm. By 9 he was still awake and crying so I fed him again. He took a full feed and crashed. My husband gave him a DF at 10:30 (not sure if we should have done that) at which time he also drank a couple of oz. and he still woke up at 1:45 am. He ate again and woke up this morning at 6:30.