Author Topic: Starting EASY from the beginning... What does it LOOK like day to day?  (Read 1477 times)

Offline RebekahDSC

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 3
Hi! We are expecting LO #2 in about 8 weeks and trying to be as prepared as possible for this huge change! I didn't start my first child on EASY until she was 3 or 4 months old and that was a big mistake because by then we had a lot of sleep problems already! This time around we are planning to start EASY from the beginning. Since I've never done that before, I'm not really sure what to expect. I've read up on here some about it but I still have some questions. Mostly I'm wondering what it will really be like day to day, hour to hour, minute to minute when baby #2 is just a newborn.

Specifically...

I know newborns sleep like crazy and usually can sleep pretty much anywhere. So will I need to actually "put him to sleep" or just put him in bed when it is time to sleep?

If I do have to put him to sleep, how do I do this without becoming a prop (to me it seems that using shush-pat would cause him to need me in order to fall asleep which is not something I want to teach him)

What does a newborn's typical routine look like? Especially, what is a good bedtime for a newborn And how long of a night is typical? (I realize there will be night feeds in there) It looks like 12 hours is sometimes recommended in sample routines but this doesn't seem to match with the recommended 5-6 hours night sleep.

How often does a newborn need to have their naps in bed vs. in someone's arms? With family coming to meet the new little guy, I imagine people are going to want to hold him while he is sleeping...

Thanks so much!

Offline shannoncorrin

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 1
Re: Starting EASY from the beginning... What does it LOOK like day to day?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2013, 21:51:05 pm »