Author Topic: Short Naps on the EASY routine  (Read 1327 times)

Offline JDUB

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: January 10, 2010, 00:11:45 am »
I am new to the baby whisperer methods, but am hopeful that they will work for us.

Jude is my first baby and he is 15 weeks. About one month ago he started taking 45 minute naps. We have been on a routine since the beginning, but the short naps make it difficult. He isn't hungry when we wakes up. I don't rush in to get him in hopes that he will fall back to sleep.

For the last three days we have been using the Four "S" to get Jude to sleep. We had to take away his pacifier because it had become a prop (accidental parenting, for sure). He had a few longer naps ranging from 1 hour to 1.5 hours, but nothing consistent. His consistent naps are 45 minutes. Our typical routine would be wake up - eat (only takes about 10 - 15 minutes due to his efficiency) - activity until around 1 hour - begin winding down/soothing - asleep about 1:15 to 1:20 (if all goes well) - sleeps (45 minutes) and then it would be "time" to eat again according to the EASY routine, but he isn't hungry yet. How do I reconcile the EASY routine and short naps/short active times (according to his cues - yawn, cuddling into neck, etc)? He should not be eating every two hours at his age.

Before the 45 minute naps started he was doing a 2:45 to 3 hour routine. There have even been times when he goes 3.5 hours happily.

The other issue we are dealing with is swaddling. He seems to hate it. He's calm during "setting the scene", but at the swaddle time he starts screaming. I would categorize him as a Spirited baby. I have read that Spirited babies can dislike the swaddle due to its constraints, but I'm not seeing any suggestion on how to deal with it. I am going to try the Aussie Swaddle and then the sleep sack with his arms inside to see if it gets better. Thoughts?

Offline Mjaz

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 7