Author Topic: She's finding her fingers!!!!! :) UPDATE! Amazing turn-around! :)  (Read 1511 times)

Offline Krunchie

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
After WEEKS of trying to shove her fingers and thumbs into her mouth and failing miserably, DD has finally got some consistency!

She's 13weeks today.

Today she settled herself for 3 naps by sucking on her 2 middle fingers!! I also managed to extend 2 of the naps from 35mins, to 1hr by shhhing and jiggling her bum whilst she sucked on her fingers!

This is real progress! I was hoping she's find her thumb, but fingers will do!!

Quick question, does anyone else's LO suck fingers instead of thumb? And do you find it soothes them as well as a thumb? My DS sucked his thumb so I have no experience of fingers!

I NEARLY got her down for the night without a dummy due to this development, but for some reason she can't calm herself enough at night to suck on her fingers contentedly. I'm hoping this will come with time as we have serious prop issues with the dummy.

K.xx

« Last Edit: April 10, 2011, 08:56:33 am by Krunchie »

Offline AvasMummy

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2011, 20:32:32 pm »
Yep totally normal. DD insists on sucking the same two fingers (I don't think she knows her thumb is there)...sometimes so much she gives herself little blisters?!? Strange child! Congratulations your LO now has perfected her preferred method of self soothing :)

Offline ~Karen~

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 98
Re: She's finding her fingers!!!!! :)
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2011, 20:43:25 pm »
I've got two thumb suckers out of my three but have friends with fingers suckers.  I love it when they find their thumb/fingers! 

Offline Krunchie

• Showing Appreciation 0
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2011, 20:50:16 pm »
Thanks guys  ;D