Author Topic: What should I be looking for in a Nursery for DS?  (Read 1950 times)

Offline <Catherine>

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 149
What should I be looking for in a Nursery for DS?
« on: November 30, 2011, 10:53:08 am »
I need new childcare plans for January and want to put DS into a nursery 1 day/week. I've never used a nursery before (always used a childminder - who is a friend of mine) so have no idea what to look for.

DS is very outgoing and will just love it I'm sure. He's starting pre-school next September (  :o  :'( ) so it's only going to be from January until then.

A new nursery opened in September (the group have another nursery a few miles away), just down the road from where I work. They have space for him and I went to look round it this morning. It seems lovely - DS just ran straight in and started playing  :D

My sister used to work in a nursery that she thought was awful (mainly beacuse of the staff) and said she'd never put her DS in a nursery. She came with me this morning and actually really liked the nursery, the only negative she thought was that all the staff seemed young and wouldn't necessarily have children themselves - the pre-school that her DS goes to is staffed by slightly older 'Mumsy' women, iykwim? The manager of the nursery only looked about 18 (I'm sure she isn't though, and I shouldn't judge as I only look about 12 myself  :P ) but was lovely.

I want to say yes straight away as I liked it there, but am worried I have no idea what to look for  :-\

Catherine x

Offline Mashi

• Showing Appreciation 408
Re: What should I be looking for in a Nursery for DS?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2011, 11:11:22 am »