Author Topic: Dropping the bottle for sippy cup..advice?  (Read 1925 times)

Offline Truly Blessed

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 125
Dropping the bottle for sippy cup..advice?
« on: December 18, 2011, 08:24:31 am »
Hi Everyone,

DS is 23 months almost and I was adviced to got to sippy cup a looong time ago but didn't.. ::) he's my only baby! YES I know he's a Toddler now LOL.

Anyway I tried a few months ago and he kicked up a stink so he will be 2 in January and I don't want to keep him a baby for me! And also I'm concerned about milk rot (as a former dental nurse I've seen it all). He has never had a sports bottle type sippy cup with a valve so I plan to get him a couple of these as it will be new. I was thinking to start with the morning bottle when he isn't sleepy and then move to the evening? Is it better to go cold turkey?

Also he is still having 4 oz before nap. His total milk intake is 16oz over 3 bottles. Is this okay for his age now. He's not the best of eater anymore, but I have found will always eat when hungry enough so I've finally stopped stressing about that  ::) but I wonder if he would eat more if his milk intake was less. He does have a yoghurt every day for extra dairy intake and he loves cheese.

Any experience/advice would be much appreciated. After the bottle starts the dummy/paci thing siiigh. Months ago I weaned it to just for sleep but during illness he ended up more addicted when I gave it to him all the time. But hey sorry, that's another forum  :-X.

(X)

Offline Lolly

• Bottle Feeding, Discipline and Socialization
  • Forum Moderator
  • Showing Appreciation 318
Re: Dropping the bottle for sippy cup..advice?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2011, 08:34:35 am »
I would start with the morning bottle but go cold turkey with that one. Just give him his milk in whatever cup you choose (he may like an open cup better too) and stick with it. If he is still having milk on wake up try giving it to him with breakfast instead.