Author Topic: 10.5 week old feeding through the night  (Read 1265 times)

Offline MamaLinds

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
10.5 week old feeding through the night
« on: July 21, 2013, 16:06:34 pm »

Hi there! This is my first time posting on the site, but I am desperate!
Some background: I read Tracy's "Secrets of the Baby Whisperer" and have been following EASY since my son was 10 days old. Everything has been going fairly well, but we had a very rough time for weeks 6-9 (lots of crying, plus I've been experiencing some PPD so things have not been so easy as in the beginning). Around that time, my sister gave me another of Tracy's books "The BW Solves All Of Your Problems (By Teaching You To Ask The Right Questions)". I found that this book has much more detail and I wish I'd read it from cover to cover before my baby instead of the other one! Oh well...
So, my issue is -- and I want to preface this by saying that I had every intention to never be that parent who stressed about timing and milestones, but the lack of sleep is making me insane -- that I keep reading and hearing that babies "should" be sleeping through the night by 6-8 weeks. I know that this only means a 5 or 6 hour stretch, but at this point I would take 4 hours. My 10.5 week old will only give 3h20 mins tops, and that is usually just the first stretch. After that, he wakes and then never sleeps beyond 2.5 hours the rest of the night (this is just me timing his sleep, not from beginning of feed to beginning of feed, to be clear). So I am waking up twice and then he's up by 6 or so to actually start his day.