Author Topic: Struggling - Dread the weekends  (Read 1156 times)

Offline jnduff

• Love being a mama
  • New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
Struggling - Dread the weekends
« on: May 28, 2014, 16:22:54 pm »
I am one who strives and thrives when there is a clear routine for my LO.  Baby #3 is 3 months, 3 weeks and currently at daycare and we are struggling with EASY.  I did the EASY routine with my first two kids and although it was a rough to start we easily got on track and my kids quickly benefited from the EASY.  MY LO is at daycare for another 3 weeks (I am a teacher and almost out of school for the summer).  I am struggling because there is not a clear routine.  There are some constants that we are doing...for example: I am waking him at 6:15ish everyday and he eats and at bedtime we start our routine at 6:30 with a bath and bedtime routine and then typically he is in is bed by 7 to drift off.  He doesn't always go to sleep on his own but I have been trying to instill independent sleep.  Also we do a sort of modified EAS - being that he doesn't get fed (daycare or at home) and go right to sleep. 

My biggest issue is that I really have no idea other than cues and guesstimating when he should go down for a nap during the weekends when we are home together.  What ends up happening is that I have an OT baby who only wants to take 45 minute naps.  At daycare he is taking a 2-3 hour nap and then maybe a shorter one during the day as well.  I am not sure if I just don't like not having control but its becoming that I dread the weekends because I will deal with lots of crying making me feel horrible, him feel horrible and stressed out.  I want to do EASY but at this point I am not sure where/how to start, if I should wait to start or what.

I have done EASY with my other two children so I am not sure why I am having such a hard time.  AHHHH...thanks for letting me vent.

Offline danaadell

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0