Author Topic: 5 week old - gas and self soothong  (Read 987 times)

Offline Fadeout

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: October 21, 2015, 01:01:57 am »
Hi ladies and gents. Newbie here! I am hoping to get some advice about my 5 week old ebf baby boy here.

He is a fairly good sleeper, touch wood. Nighttime, he goes down at 7pm,sleeps to midnight /1am, feed and change for half hour, sleep until 4ish, feed and change for half hour, and then his worst sleep until 6ish. During the last sleep he squirms and grunts and fights his swaddle a lot. We use the miracle blanket. He is also quite grumpy and vocal when he is up from that last sleep.

Daytimes are  getting a bit easier. He has his first nap around 7.30am-8.30am, then 9.30ish-1030ish, then 12-2 on a good day and his last nap around 3.30 ideally but he fights this one so it ends up being 4.30-530 most days. Then we feed and play  for a bit and have bath time, massage and bed.

I rarely feed before a nap, usually only before his night sleep to give him a bump and we always put him down drowsy but awake. I will swaddle, hold him and away a bit and then down into cot. I leave. He fights swaddle and whinges. I leave him unless he cries, in which case I go in and shhh him and leave. I only pick him up for a cuddle if his cries escalate. He then usually settles and according to the monitor, it's wide awake and just staring at the wall and yawning for a good 15-20 minutes before drifting off.

I guess my questions are - is leaving him to whinge until he cries mean? Does it qualify as CIO of sorts?

Is it OK to leave him there awake in the dark and alone for upwards of 20 minutes? He usually doesn't complain, just looks around. That dammed video monitor and his sad little eyes break my heart!