Author Topic: 6 week-can't sleep in the bassinet-self settlement help needed for exhausted mom  (Read 927 times)

Offline needasleepingangel

• New, But Posting Steadily!
  • Showing Appreciation 3
Hi All,
I am a newbie here and this is my first post. I have a 6 weeks old DD, and a two and a half years old DS. I am EBF.

We started EASY for DD at 2 weeks old. For the first two weeks(3rd and 4th week), we can put her down to sleep for most of daytime naps after 20 minutes when she's in deep sleep. Then between her 4th and 5th week, she got stuffy nose and had trouble sleeping on her back during naps. I started to let her sleep in the carrier in upright position. And after a week, we got two problems:1) Very difficult to put her down to nap anymore; 2)her nap is always 45 minutes long.

We have tried the following:
1. Shh-pat during naps (and at night as well) when she is sleepy but awake, but it never worked. She just keep crying and screaming.
2. Pacifier not helping, as she never liked it, just spit it out. (My toddler never liked it either when he was a baby.)
3. Sensitive to light, even holding her in my arm to sleep doesn't work well. She just keep wiggling and looking around. I have tried to darken the room during her naps but it didn't work too well since there is still some light going through the edges. I will try to completely darken the room to see if it helps.
4. White noise helped a bit, but she can't fall asleep by herself using this.

I only succeed in putting her to sleep in the carrier. And I have to carry her until about 20 minutes after she is asleep. Then I can try to put her in the bassinet. Sometimes when I successfully put her down, she sleep for about 20-25 minutes until 45 min mark. Sometimes, when I am unsuccessful and she becomes awake crying, I have to start all over again.