Author Topic: Combi feeding  (Read 2983 times)

Offline Sharps83

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: October 19, 2016, 16:46:39 pm »
Hello
Does any one combi feed? What's your experience of it?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 22:28:12 pm by *Ali* »

Offline *Ali*

• Breast Feeding & Pregnancy/Childbirth
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 373
  • Caught in the act!
Re: Combi feeding
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2016, 22:29:33 pm »
Sorry, I have no personal experience of this but we have a FAQ on this that you might like to read in the meantime. A bottle (or more!) a day…  Mixed breast and bottle feeding
Cadan Dec 2009 and Colby Aug 2011

Offline Shiv52

• The Diplomat
  • Global Moderator
  • Showing Appreciation 585
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2016, 09:28:47 am »
I just posted on your other thread.

With my third I did some bottles early on as we'd a whole host of issues-thrush and mastitis which developed into an abscess, tongue tie and extremely sore cracked nippes. So I needed to use some bottles and I actually needed nipples shields too.  It worked well in so much as I was able to give my poor nipples a break but it definitely affected my supply. After a couple of weeks when I was better I gradually ditched all the bottles as I hated the faff of sterilising and I was worried about supply.  We spent a good week just working on supply and then after that I got rid of the shields.

My friend combi fed from 3 months with no issues but i guess that's because her supply was well established. 

Offline Martini~

• Birth Clubs
  • Forum Moderator
  • Showing Appreciation 48
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2016, 09:38:17 am »
We had first bottle at 2/3 weeks I think and from then we did it occasionally once a week or so DS didn't forget how to use it. From around 4mo we used it once for 2/3 days and at DF. It never changed my supply but I was intensively pumping when not feeding and usually offering my EBF in a bottle.
~Marta