Author Topic: Sleep & wind/tummy pain  (Read 1581 times)

Offline Realhousewife

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: November 10, 2016, 21:07:09 pm »
Hi All,

This is my first time using this forum and I'm hoping for some advice from anyone who has gone through this.

My DS is 7 weeks old and has had issues with constipation and wind since about 2 weeks due to Being FF.

He has always hated sleeping in his cot (would wake when out in there) but we could get him to sleep there for night time and one afternoon nap. He has always been a big eater (drains the bottle every feed) and used to be consistent with EASY but isn't anymore.

As he is getting older he is waking up more which may be causing his fussiness and sleeplessness but still experiencing the dietary issues. His paediatrician has us trialling Nan Comfort & prune juice for two weeks but I'm not sure what to do about his sleep in the mean time.

He is generally a great sleeper when he does get to sleep and is in a deep sleep and has even put himself to sleep before without crying or me being there (I was beyond exhausted and needed a short break - he kicked around for a bit then slept for a couple of hours.

Due to his tummy issues he hadn't been able to develop a decent EASY routine as sometimes he would comfort eat to get things moving. Before and after the six week period he would go anywhere from 4 - 5 hrs between feeds, last night going 6 twice (his formula amt is adjusted to make sure he is getting enough cals).

My question is - should I worry about sleep training using shh pat now or wait until his tummy issues are sorted out? I badly need him to sleep in his crib as other options (co sleeping, swing) are not an option for us for me to sleep. Sometimes I will use the swing just so I can get some things done but can't nap while he is in there for safety reasons. He will go to sleep there at night so I'm getting some sleep but it's not enough to sustain long term.