Author Topic: My 11 week old will not nap past 30-45 minutes. Does WTS work?  (Read 1402 times)

Offline jacks0928

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0

I am new to these types of forums so if I do not provide enough information or too much at that, please let me know. I have read the books, scoured the internet and tried it all to no avail. Here is a little background: My beautiful boy is 11 weeks old and for the past two weeks has been taking naps that do no last longer than 45 minutes total. Before this, his naps would range from 1 hr to sometimes 3. We are on a 3.5 hr EASY schedule and his waketime is around hour and half. I have been trying WTS for the past few days with more failures than successes. It is hard to judge the time to pop in with him because sometimes itll be a 30 minute nap while others are 45 minutes. Either way it is like clockwork. He is in his crib (since about 6 weeks) and goes down to sleep with minimal fussing. At a certain time (see below) I go in and move him a little. He moves his arms or legs but never wakes up fully. I do notice however that at almost every 10 minute mark he will jolt (he is swaddled and hates it!). I have a few questions:

1. How can I judge time to go in if I don't know whether he will take a 30 or 45 minute nap?
2. If his body is moving on own, isn't he going into a new sleep cycle on his own? He tends to be a restless napper.
3. How long should this take to show some consistency?

Day 1:
1st attempt: went in after 35 minutes -- woke up 5 minutes later (total nap - 40 minutes)
2nd attempt: went in after 25 minutes -- woke up at the 45 minute mark but I caught it and soothed him back (total nap- 1.5 hr)
3rd attempt: woke up after 15 minutes -- soothed back to sleep but only for another 30 minutes (total nap 45 minutes)

Day 2:
1st attempt: went in after 25 minutes -- woke up 10 minutes later but I soothed back 15 minutes later (total nap - 1 hr)