Author Topic: Ingredients to avoid for food allergies - NEW VERSION!  (Read 1094 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Buntybear

  • Food Allergies
  • Moderator
  • Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • *****
  • Showing Appreciation 130
  • Posts: 9680
  • Just the wheat allergy to go now!
  • Location: UK
Ingredients to avoid for food allergies - NEW VERSION!
« on: March 19, 2018, 14:59:05 pm »
Ingredients to avoid for food allergies - Milk, Soy, Eggs, Peanuts, Gluten
 
 
MILK ALLERGY

***Also - some related topics and information.  No longer a sticky, but here is the link!!**** 

Multiple Food Allergy Recipes:  Milk, Soy, Wheat, Eggs, Corn, Fish, Peanut, ETC.

US and UK Food Brands for Allergies  https://www.babywhispererforums.com/index.php?topic=34075.0


The following ingredients found on a label indicate the presence of milk protein. All labels should be read carefully before consuming a product, even if it has been eaten safely in the past.

Butters: artificial butter, artificial butter flavor, butter, butter extract, butter fat, butter flavored oil, butter solids, dairy butter, natural butter, natural butter flavor, whipped butter

Casein & caseinates: ammonium caseinate, calcium caseinate, magnesium caseinate, potassium caseinate, sodium caseinate, hydrolyzed casein, iron caseinate, zinc caseinate

Cheese: cheese (all types), cheese flavor (artificial and natural), cheese food, cottage cheese, cream cheese, imitation cheese, vegetarian cheeses with casein

Cream, whipped cream
Curds
Custard
Dairy product solids
Galactose
Ghee
Half & Half

Hydrolysates: casein hydrolysate, milk protein hydrolysate, protein hydrolysate, whey hydrolysate, whey protein hydrolysate

Ice cream, ice milk, sherbet
Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
Lactate solids
Lactyc yeast
Lactitol monohydrate
Lactoglobulin
Lactose
Lactulose

Milk: Acidophilus milk, buttermilk, buttermilk blend, buttermilk solids, cultured milk, condensed milk, dried milk, dry milk solids (DMS), evaporated milk, fat-free milk, fully cream milk powder, goat’s milk, low-fat milk, malted milk, milk derivative, milk powder, milk protein, milk solids, milk solid pastes, non-fat dry milk, non-fat milk, non-fat milk solids, pasteurized milk, powdered milk, sheep’s milk, skim milk, skim milk powder, sour milk, sour milk solids, sweet cream buttermilk powder, sweetened condensed milk, sweetened condensed skim milk, whole milk, 1% milk, 2% milk.

Milk fat, anhydrous milk fat

Nisin preparation
Nougat
Pudding
Quark
Recaldent
Renned, rennet casein
Simplesse (fat replacer)
Sour cream, sour cream solids, imitation sour cream

Whey: Acid whey, cured whey, delactosed whey, demineralized whey, hydrolyzed whey, powdered whey, reduced mineral whey, sweet dairy whey, whey, whey protein, whey protein concentrate, whey powder, whey solids

Yogurt (regular or frozen), yogurt powder

Possible sources of milk:

Natural flavoring
Flavoring
Caramel flavoring
High protein flour
Lactic acid (usually not a problem)
Lactic acid starter culture
“Non-dairy” products may contain casein.
Rice cheese
Soy cheese

Milk derivatives that should be safe for most individuals with milk allergy, but check with your doctor before using:

Lactoferrin
Tagatose (Naturlose)

SOY Allergy

Be sure to avoid giving your child foods that contain any of the following ingredients:
hydrolyzed soy protein
miso
shoyo sauce
soy flour
soy grits
soy nuts
soy milk
soy sprouts
soy protein concentrate
soy protein isolate
soy sauce
tempeh
textured vegetable protein (TVP)
tofu
Other possible sources of soy or soy products:
flavorings
hydrolyzed plant protein
hydrolyzed vegetable protein
natural flavoring
vegetable broth
vegetable gum
vegetable starch
To avoid soy and soy products:
Contact the manufacture to identify the natural flavorings in foods. Ask if they use soy as a carrier protein for the natural flavoring.

Flavorings may be soy based.

Hydrolyzed plant and hydrolyzed vegetable protein in the US are likely to be soy.

Contact the company to identify vegetable broth, gums, and starches, as they have the potential to be soy.


EGG Allergy


Be sure to avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients:

albumin
egg white
egg yolk
dried egg
egg powder
egg solids
egg substitutes
eggnog
globulin
livetin
lysozyme (used in Europe)
mayonnaise
meringue
ovalbumin
ovomucin
ovomucoid
ovovitellin
Simplesse™
Other possible sources of eggs or egg products:
A shiny glaze or yellow baked goods may indicate the presence of egg.
Simplesse™ is used as a fat substitute and is made from either egg or milk protein.
Egg white and shells may be used as clarifying agents in soup stocks, consommés, bouillons, and coffees.
Caution should be used if consuming these products.

Information for using egg substitutes:
For each egg, one of the following may be substituted in recipes:

1 tsp baking powder, 1 Tbsp water, 1 Tbsp vinegar
1 tsp yeast dissolved in 1/4 cup warm water
1 Tbsp apricot puree
1 1/2 Tbsp water, 1 1/2 Tbsp oil, 1 tsp baking powder
1 packet gelatin, 2 Tbsp warm water (do not mix until ready to use)

http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/misc/eggallergy_cutout.html

TREE NUT Allergy

Tree Nut Allergy Diet

Avoid All Sources of Tree Nuts
If your child has a tree nut allergy, he or she must avoid all sources of tree nut protein. Read labels on food products carefully. Tree nuts have been used in many foods including barbecue sauce, cereals, crackers, and ice cream. Also, Hacky Sacks (kick sacks), bean bags, and draft dodgers are sometimes filled with crushed nut shells. Be careful when purchasing and using these items.

Nutmeg is safe to eat. Nutmeg comes from the seeds of a tropical tree. Coconut is also usually safe to eat. A coconut is actually the seed of a fruit. Some people have reacted to coconut. Discuss eating coconut with your health care provider before introducing coconut to your child's diet.

Tree nuts can cause severe allergic reactions. If your doctor has prescribed epinephrine, be sure that your child has it available at all times.

Read Food Labels
Knowing how to read a food label will help you avoid problems caused by nuts in foods.

 
Avoid foods that contain tree nuts or any of these ingredients:
----------------------------------------------------------
almonds                         natural nut extract       
artificial nuts                   (such as almond, walnut)
Brazil nuts                     nut meal           
caponata                        nut meat
cashews                         nut oil
chestnuts                       nut paste (such as,       
filbert/hazelnuts                  almond paste)           
gianduja (a nut mixture         nut pieces                 
  in some chocolate)            pecans (Mashuga Nuts)     
hickory nuts                    pesto                     
macadamia nuts                  pine nuts (indian nuts, pinon
mandelonas                         nuts, pignoli nuts, pignon
marzipan/almond paste              nuts, pigñolia nuts)
nan-gai nuts                    pistachios                   
nougat                          pralines                   
nut butters (such as,           walnuts                   
  cashew butter)
-----------------------------------------------------------
Artificial nuts can be peanuts that have been deflavored and reflavored with a nut, such as pecan or walnut.
Mortadella may contain pistachios.
Natural and artificial flavoring may contain tree nuts.
Experts advise people allergic to any tree nut to avoid all tree nuts as well as peanuts.
Use Tree Nut Substitutes
Children who are allergic to tree nuts, which grow on trees, are sometimes not allergic to peanuts, which grow underground. Check with your doctor first to be sure your child can safely eat peanuts. You may be able to use peanuts as a substitute for nuts in baked goods and other foods.

Material used with permission from the Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network, a national nonprofit organization. For more information write: FAAN, 10400 Eaton Place, Suite 107, Fairfax, VA 22030 or go to http://www.foodallergy.org. Copyright 2001 The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network.

GLUTEN

* Please note:  There is a difference between Celiac Disease and a wheat allergy.  Celiac disease is a life long disease and you must not consume ANY Gluten products.  If you have a wheat allergy, you can handle other grains with gluten, just not wheat.

Foods to Avoid


• alcoholic beverages, some baby foods, barley malt

• batter-fried foods, biscuits, bologna

• bouillon, bran, bread, bread crumbs

• bulgur, buns, cakes, candy

• cereals, chocolate, cocoa, cold cuts

• cookies, cornbread, crackers, cream of wheat

• croutons, doughnuts, dumplings, farina

• flours, graham crackers, granola, gravies

• hot dogs, ice cream, ice cream cones, liverwurst

• macaroni, malt products, malted milk, matzos

• mayonnaise, MSG, muffins, noodles

• ovaltine, pancake mixes, pasta

• pastries, pepper, pies, pita bread, pizza

• pretzels, puddings, pumpernickel bread, rolls

• rye bread, sauces, sausages, soups

• soy sauce, tamari, spaghetti, tortillas

• vermicelli, waffles, wheat germ, some yeasts

(from Allergy Relief & Prevention, by Krohn, Taylor, & Larson, p. 130