Author Topic: New to making my baby food......?'s  (Read 2214 times)

Offline PeepersMom

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 9
« on: December 09, 2005, 20:26:35 pm »
I am so excited to start making the baby food - maybe even more excited than seeing my baby eat it!   :lol:

So I am to start rice cereal first and probably will start in a week or so, then at 5 months at the earliest start veggies.  He has diary and soy intolerances, sadly.  So we are not doing anything other than rice cereal for a while.

Right now the only thing I can think of to make is sweet potatoes and squash.  Those are easy to steam. But I can't visualize steaming green beans or broccoli or cauliflower and then getting them into a fine enough puree.  I have a wand type mixer, a blender, and a food processor.  I am not really good at using the food processor and there are sooo many parts that I was hoping to get away with just the wand mixer or the blender.

Can anyone help me?   Peas seem hard because they have a bit of a casing.......Is avacado considered a veggie or fruit in baby world?

What was on your babies first menu?

Thanks
Sweet Boy PJ "I'm too excited to sleep!"
DOB 7/28/05
Jovie love
DOB 1/24/11
Big Boy Miles
DOB 4/29/12

Offline Fiona (Leah & Kians Mom)

• Showing Appreciation 84
New to making my baby food......?'s
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2005, 21:11:20 pm »
Hi Meg,
You can blend just about anything,including meat and chicken so don't worry about that. I would recommend the Gina Ford Weaning book for recipies and the Annabel Karmel book too, she has a website you can have a look on. We actually started with both fruit and veg after the rice, sweet potatoes, carrots, squash, pear and apple, pear is actually a very good fruit to start with as it's quite easily digested.
Fiona

Offline Deb_in_oz

• Showing Appreciation 615
  • personal development blogger
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2005, 21:14:51 pm »