Author Topic: 9 month old waking and playing at night  (Read 1104 times)

Offline Ammie

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« on: April 18, 2006, 15:52:46 pm »
My DH and I have been using the PU/PD method for 4 days now.  My LO goes to sleep well using this technique initially, last night it was only 15 minutes and maybe 10 PU/PD's.  Then he slept for 4 hours and woke up, we used the PU/PD for over an hour, then my LO started playing in his crib.  It was 2 hours before he fell asleep.  He did this the previous night as well.  What do I do to fix this?

As well, my LO has a 2 - 2 1/2 hour nap in the morning and a 30min nap in the afternoon. (this just started happening in the last week)  Is that OK? or should I try and make him sleep more in the afternoon as well.  I know I'm new with this technique but I'm already getting frustrated with the night waking.  I know I'm doing something wrong but I need some guidance.

Thanks for your help!

Offline teezee

• Resident BW Chatterbox!
  • Showing Appreciation 157
Re: 9 month old waking and playing at night
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2006, 15:56:49 pm »
i believe your lo may be getting too much sleep. at nine months my lo couldn't do more than 2.5hrs/day of naps max. or else i had a playful dd in the wee hrs of the morning.  if you want to post your routine i could take another look but i think that may be the problem, if lo is getting more than enough sleep during the day, then he won't have a 'need' to get the sleep at night kwim?
Tawnya
Mommy to Alecksandria
June 11, 2005

Offline Ammie

• New & Learning The Ropes!
  • Showing Appreciation 0
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2006, 21:59:20 pm »
Thanks,
Here's his routine
5-7am  wake up / bottle of formula
8am breakfast, then play
10am-noon nap
12:30 lunch
1pm bottle of formula, then play
2:30 - 3pm nap
3:30pm snack
5:30pm supper
7pm bottle of formula / wind down for bed
8pm bed
3am wakes for nursing