Author Topic: Some bottle q'uns from a newbie  (Read 1040 times)

Offline nike

• BW Aficionado
  • Showing Appreciation 5
  • Boys Just Wanna Have Fun!
Some bottle q'uns from a newbie
« on: March 26, 2007, 10:06:40 am »
Hi there.  I am new to this site but already I have received great advice over on the EASY forum, so hoping to replicate that here :)

My DS2 is 14 weeks old, 9 weeks corrected due to prematurity.  At 10 weeks I weaned him onto formula due to health/medical reasons (his and mine).  I am still wracked by mother guilt since I fed DS1 for 9 months!  Anyhow, to cut a long story short, I'm new to this whole formula/bottle thing and we seem to be having some "teething" troubles.  DS seems to have trouble starting the bottle.  He'll cough, splutter, wheeze, draw a huge breath and almost stop breathing.  I immediately have to sit him up and give him a little whack on the back to get him going again.  When I was (.)(.) feeding I thought it was due to my fast letdown but I'm obviously wrong about that in hindsight.  It seems from that point on that he is almost afraid of the bottle and it takes me a while to calm him down and distract him, often with the dummy, till I can get him to take it in his mouth again.  If I start to lie him back down into the crook of my arm and he's not ready, he'll start squirming and start to get really upset ???  Some feeds are better than others, especially the night feeds which are very relaxed and calm.  We have no trouble at all, really, only the occasional cough or splutter.  I have read the thread on dysplagia and am thinking of chatting with the doc re. this one, especially since he was premmie and that may possibly be a cause.  Or do you think it's possible he's just adjusting to the newness of bottle feeding?  I should also mention that we are using Avent bottles and previously I was using the Pigeone peristaltic teats, the 3 month ones.  When this all started I thought they might have been too fast for him and switched